To be a successful 40-year old creator, think like a 20-year-old

Natasha Tynes
2 min readJan 20, 2022

--

If you are a creator in your forties, develop a twenty-year-old mindset, and you will be unstoppable.

I met a thirty-year-old person once who told me he preferred younger people’s company over that of people of his age. I didn’t get what he said back then and thought he was off until twenty years later when I reached my forties.

You need to think like a twenty-year-old to continue to grow.

Does this sound outrageous? Spiky point of view? Hear me out.

A few years ago, I was on top of my game to the outside world. I was making six figures at a very prestigious organization. I had a lovely family and great kids. But somehow, I was miserable. Extremely miserable. Why?

It took me years to find the answer to this question.

I was miserable because I was thinking like a 40-year-old.

I stopped thinking like a twenty-year-old. I was settled, jaded, and watching my retirement investments grow as I binged on Netflix in bed with a glass of wine.

I stopped creating and learning. I was a good corporate soldier. I stopped noticing opportunities and seized to see the world as a clean slate.

I seized to think of myself as someone who needs to learn and improve. I stopped growing.

Then things went south, which was the kick in the butt that I needed. I left the corporate world and became a forty-year-old creator who wanted to make it on their own, without the safety of a corporate job.

As scary as this might sound, I’m the happiest I have been. What helped me was thinking like a twenty-year-old.

Here is why the combination of a 40-year experience and a twenty-year-old mindset is a killer combo:

#1. You would have a young mind. You would want to learn and absorb. You won’t be stubborn and think you know it all.

#2. You would remember that there are people out there who know more than you. You would continue to be humble.

#3. You would show restraint. While you would have the enthusiasm of a twenty-year-old, you would also have learned how to measure your words.

#4. You would still want to make new friendships. You would stop being a jaded middle-aged who thinks they are content with their few friends.

#5. You would make mistakes, but if you have the 40/20 year combination, you’ll know that mistakes are essential for growth.

#6. Obstacles would come your way, but you would have the wisdom to know that obstacles can be opportunities in disguise at your age.

Embrace your 40/20 yourself. Never stop learning, never stop reflecting, pull some golden nuggets from your 40-year-old wisdom toolbox, stay humble and surround yourself with inspiring people. You will be unstoppable.

This post was created with Typeshare

--

--

Natasha Tynes

Writer. Journalist. Words in @washingtonpost , @ElleUK , @esquire . I write about: ✍🏼 Writing 📲 Creator economy 🌍 Mideast